How to achieve advanced performance?

ShawnCastrianni.5092ShawnCastrianni.5092 US ✭✭✭
edited March 23 in SkiaSharp

@mattleibow I have been using SkiaSharp for a few months now and am having great success. However, I am quickly approaching the point where I need to speed up my rendering. Right now, I draw everything from scratch on every PaintCanvas call. I am pretty sure I need to stop doing that and instead break things up into layers where each layer is its own bitmap. A layer would only redraw itself from primitives when it changes. All other times, it just blasts its saved bitmap onto the main canvas.

I have never used SKBitmap, SKCanvas, SKPicture, etc. for performance reasons. I have just used SKBitmaps for images and only had the 1 main SKCanvas. Below is my attempt at putting all of my text primitives into a textLayer which is just an SKBitmap that is only created the first time. It definitely fixed my performance problem when panning and zooming, however, if I zoom in, I now get blurry text. This is expected since the text was originally created at zoom factor 1 in a bitmap. So when zooming, the text layer bitmap is just enlarged causing pixelation. This is different than what happens when I do NOT try to create a textLayer bitmap. If I redraw the text from primitives every time, the text stays sharp.

So what I want to do is to allow the blurry text while zooming. but when the user lifts his fingers off the screen, I want the text layer to regenerate itself from primitives to become sharp again and then save that new sharpen bitmap text layer until the user zooms again.

This is where I get stuck since when I force my layer to regenerate itself from text primitives, it still stays blurry. What am I missing? Can you fix my sample program below?

public class LayerPerformancePage : ContentPage
{
    private const int CELL_DIM = 15;

private SKCanvasView _canvasV = null;
    private SKMatrix _m = SKMatrix.MakeIdentity();