Entity Framework using Xaml pages

PeteSuffolkPeteSuffolk USMember ✭✭

I'm trying to learn how to use Entity Framework in XF using XAML pages rather than just code.

I've been working from the one example I could find here:

https://xamarinhelp.com/entity-framework-core-xamarin-forms/

As you all probably know I am an antique VB Net developer taking my first steps in Xamarin and c#.

In a multi XAML page application where should I initialise the database and how would this relate to individual pages?

• AlmaJensen.9398AlmaJensen.9398 USMember ✭✭✭

Let me start of by saying good luck because you're going to be pioneering some new ground here. There are precedents for what you're trying to do, but any attempt I've tried or other developers I know have met with a lot of frustration. I do believe though that xf development is moving in the direction that you are attempting but I have a feeling that all the bugs may not be worked out here. I'll let you know what I am aware of on how to get this to work, I'd love to hear back about any progress or read any blog posts that you write about it.

Here's a list of what I've run across when looking into doing this.

• EF on mobile has to be done using EF7 using .net standard. And I believe will have to be implemented on each individual platform not in the core project. So you'll probably have to use a dependency service.
    • XF itself I've heard of developers getting it running using .net standard. But personally every blog or article I've read about it and tried to follow to get it to work failed miserably. The work arounds to convert a brand new project seemed hacky.
    • Unless VS 2017 has changed this there is no new project template for xf that supports .net standard which would be needed for .net core which is required for EF on mobile.