Minimum Mac computer required as a build host for VS2015 development on Windows

BabuMannaravalappilBabuMannaravalappil USMember ✭✭
edited February 2017 in General

Hi,

I am a seasoned web and Windows developer using Visual Studio and Windows. But I am brand new to mobile app development and want to setup my Visual Studio on a Windows 10 machine for iOS and Android Xamarin development. I know that for iOS app development I need a Mac machine to act as a build host. I am not a Mac user at all. Never even touched a Mac. I need the Mac machine only to build my iOS apps from Visual Studio running on Windows. So, my question is what is the minimum spec of a Mac machine I can get away with? I really don't want to spend any more for a Mac computer than absolutely necessary to start my development. Thank you for any help.

Babu.

Answers

• JimBennettJimBennett GBXamarin Team, Insider, University, Developer Group Leader ✭✭✭✭

Why not rent one from MacInCloud?

• AllanPeadAllanPead ZAInsider, University, Developer Group Leader ✭✭✭

An entry level mac-mini works fine as a build agent @BabuMannaravalappil. 1.4GHz dual-core i5 4 gig ram. I have found MacInCloud gets expensive very expensive quickly if you get one of the plans that's non restrictive and end up spending the value of a Mac Mini in the end. But it is an option.

• NMackayNMackay GBInsider, University mod

There might be some useful info on this thread about using older Mac's.

https://forums.xamarin.com/discussion/comment/247655/

At home I use a 2009 Mac book and it compiles faster than the MacMini with 16Gb ram I use at work (probably as it has a fast SSD)

• Thank you all for your input. These comments give me some idea about what I should be looking for. I will find either a Mac Computer or MacInCloud to suit my needs.