How can I get Serial.IO.Ports to be usable?

WaterDragonWaterDragon USMember
edited January 19 in Xamarin.Mac

I am new to Xamarin.Mac, and I am trying to create a basic GUI that interfaces with an Arduino via USB. I know that I can use Serial.IO.Ports with a console application, because I have been successful with this in the past. When trying to create a Mac application, the Serial.IO.Ports namespace is not available. Any suggestions?

Best Answer

Answers

• WaterDragonWaterDragon USMember
    Thank you, Chris!
  • steviet02steviet02 USMember ✭✭
    edited October 23

@ChrisHamons said:
    So it looks like we include that in the XM 4.5 target framework but not Mobile.

$ monop -r:/Library/Frameworks/Xamarin.Mac.framework/Versions/Current/lib/mono/4.5/System.dll | grep Serial | grep Port
    System.IO.Ports.SerialData
    $ monop -r:/Library/Frameworks/Xamarin.Mac.framework/Versions/Current/lib/mono/Xamarin.Mac/System.dll | grep Serial | grep Port

I have a Xamarin.Forms project that requires serial port accessibility. I'm using the Xamarin.Mac Modern Target for my desktop Mac Application. I can compile and run the code, however, the first time I try to scan to get the port names I get an exception that tells me the "System.IO.Ports is only supported on Windows".

If I select to target Full (which doesn't include System.IO.Ports) I can't add the System.IO.Ports Package. I expect that considering it's apparently not supported. But I'm confused why I can add it in the Modern target but can't access it.

I'm not sure what is wrong or if anything can be done to get this working? Any suggestions?

• ChrisHamonsChrisHamons USXamarin Team Xamurai

So i'm not seeing that exception in mono's code for "System.IO.Ports" and SerialPort.cs is only included in full:

net_4_x_System.dll.sources:System.IO.Ports/SerialPort.cs

I'm uncertain why you are seeing the behavior you are. A small sample describing your behavior would be useful.