The type or namespace name 'Gms' does not exist in the namespace 'Android'

DavidHMDavidHM USMember ✭✭

"(are you missing an assembly reference?)"

I'm a long time Java/Android developer trying now to get a mapping app working in Xamarin. I found the following post which seems to be on point, but didn't help me:

https://forums.xamarin.com/discussion/6777/google-map-v2-didnt-find-class-com-google-android-gms-maps-mapfragment

I have the "Google Play Services" SDK installed. I have added a component "Google Play Services - Maps", yet i cannot compile my Map activity because of the following:

using Android.Gms.Maps;
using Android.Gms.Maps.Model;
looking at the samples i see under "References": Xamarin.GooglePlayServices.Base, Xamarin.GooglePlayServices.Basement, Xamarin.GooglePlayServices.Maps. How did they get there??? since i have a component (which the sample does NOT have...do i need these References?

help!!!!

Tagged:

Best Answer

Answers

• gtlealgtleal BRMember ✭✭

Hi. Check this link:
    https://blog.xamarin.com/new-improved-google-play-services-for-android/

You can get them throught: References > Manage NuGet Packages

p.PNG 30.8K
  • DavidHMDavidHM USMember ✭✭

Turns out, through luck, i already have them. When i right click on "References" and i select "Manage NuGet Packages" i see "Xamarin.GooglePlayServices.Base" and "...Basement" and "...Maps" and "Xamarin.Android.Support.v4". However they do NOT show up in the list of references (like the samples show). what's the magic to get them on the list of References?

Inside packages.config file delete the lines from these libraries, then, go to the NuGet and try again.

trying to add Base, Basement, Maps, and Support v4. from "References" i right-click and choose "Manage NuGet Packages". i locate the "Base" and try to Install it. there are some dependencies (about 8 or 9). i hit "OK" and get: