Using Vernacular

rrodriguezrrodriguez USMember
edited September 2013 in Cross Platform with Xamarin

Hello,

I'm starting a project that contains an iOS and Android apps. These apps should be properly localized and we have chosen Vernacular to achieve this localization.

General question:

1) Is there any other cross-platform method/framework out there? I had been playing around with Vernacular for less than a day, and even when it seems cool and promises to work fine, it lacks documentation and examples out there.

Vernacular specific:

1) How do you add vernacular to your project? I'm working on the iOS portion and -after compiling vernacular solution- I could add Vernacular.Catalog.dll as a reference to both my Core and iOS applications. Is this the right way to do it? I would love to see a vernacular component.

2) Can I run vernacular in a mac? I haven't found how (I'm a newbie mac user). I could run it on my pc only.

Thanks,
R.

• DanBelcherDanBelcher USMember ✭✭

Rasiel-

Re: your Vernacular specific questions...

1) Yes, you simply add the .NET Vernacular.Catalog.dll as a Reference in your project. Ofcourse, you'll need to make sure that you are
    using Vernacular;
    in the project. You will then need to call the platform-specific catalog implementation:

Catalog.Implementation  =   new ResourceCatalog {
                    GetResourceById =   id  =>  {
                        var resource    =
                            NSBundle.MainBundle.LocalizedString(id, null);
                        return  resource    ==  id  ?   null    :   resource;
                    },
                };

For iOS, this will likely happen the the FinishedLaunching method of your AppDelegate. Now you can call Vernacular.Catalog.GetString("YourString", "YourComment");