Better understanding ViewControllers and their workflow

I’m doing my best to read the documentation (Hello MAC, SourceWriter, Working with Storyboards, etc) about the GUI development paradigm, (MVC storyboards, Xamarin/xcode designer etc), and it’s been very helpful but in practice I’m running into several questions. I am new to MVC in general, although I understand the abstract idea, I’m stuck on how the pieces are represented by the Xamarin/Xcode workflow. I will try to keep this generic and high level so it will be useful for others as well.

I've observed:

• “ViewController”s are present as scenes in the Xcode storyboard designer.
  • They are also present as cs files in the Xamarin project.
  • A ViewController in the storyboard designer doesn’t necessarily have a corresponding cs file. Atleast, it is not immediately created when a view controller in the storyboard is created.

Questions:
1. For starters, any general comments you have on the difference/roles of a ViewController being represented in these two ways, relationships/conventions between them?
2. Using SourceWriter as an example, it seems that a ViewController.cs has been given to every scene, is it typically the case that every scene in the designer should have a corresponding ViewController.cs (or WIndowController.cs)?
3. Since they are not created automatically when a ViewController is added to the storyboard, is it my responsibility to add these new controller cs files for each scene into the xamarin sln project (assuming I want to expose some outlets/actions)?