Mac Disk Space disappears with Xamarin Studio

I am a newbie to Xamrin but i am trying to get sample code working and as a result have had to use the Android SDK Manager to install and uninstall various packages. So in one day I have gone from 80GB of free space to 20GB. Can anyone tell me why this is the case when I effectively now only have Android 7.0 (API 24) installed.
Can someone tell me where the redundant files are so I can free up space. This will cause my machine to be unusable very soon.

Answers

• BenDaviesBenDavies GBMember ✭✭
    edited September 2016

Just to add to this, I can see Time Machine running to back up 63GB of files. Surely this cannot be necessary and files need to be deleted.
    BTW I have emptied the Trash but with no luck.

Update : As I was down to 4GB drive space I had to kill the Xamarin process and completely uninstall it as per instructions here (https://developer.xamarin.com/guides/cross-platform/getting_started/installation/uninstalling_xamarin/#Uninstall_Xamarin_Studio). Very sad to have to do this but my drive s now up to 93GB free space. thats 90GB of files! surely there is some major misuse of space, file versions, etc here.

• DaveHuntDaveHunt USMember ✭✭✭✭✭

This is typically caused by android log files generated from Xamarin Studio. Run the Console app (in LaunchPad under Other). Click "All Messages" and expand the ~/Library/Logs entry. Click XamarinStudio-<yourversion>. You'll see a bunch of log files. You can highlight those files, right-click and Move to Trash then empty the trash.

• AlessandroCaliaroAlessandroCaliaro ITMember ✭✭✭✭✭

Maybe Android SDK installed on your mac?

• GirishMGirishM INMember ✭✭