XMLNS:Android Schema Out of Date? Not Declared?

VetoVeto ✭✭USMember ✭✭
edited September 2016 in Xamarin.Android

Hi Xamarin group,
I am pretty new to developing in Xamarin VS2015, but I've been making some good progress (at least I think). I am trying to customize the layout of my Xamarin.Android app, and it seems like some of the suggested xmlns:android attributes, even on the intro to Xamarin.Android guide, are underlined in green and set to 'attribute is not declared'. I am currently targeting API version 21 (5.0 Lollipop), but it makes no difference.

For example, android:divider, and android:showDividers should exist for API 11+, but debugging says otherwise. In cases where android:elevation is defined, it shows up as not declared as well, but the dropshadow effect is rendered when deploying the program.

I looked in my XML schema and it shows that I am currently using 4.1.2.18, and I have the xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android" schema defined, but to no avail.

As another example, with code, if I create a new template and follow along here: https://developer.xamarin.com/guides/android/user_interface/cardview/, the same issue. I've added the components for the CardView, RecycleView, and Support v7 Library to my project, but still the schema tells me nothing is declared. Or it will tell me that my CardView has an invalid child element (expecting a TextView/ImageView, which is all that is there).

Any help on this matter would be appreciated as it makes it seem like my application is debugging for APIv1.0

Thank you!!

Answers

• VetoVeto ✭✭ USMember ✭✭

Here is a picture to help...

• Have you found the solution to this problem? I am having the same issue

No, I did not get an answer from any documentation or support forum, so I ended up switching over to Android Studio and am now programming in Java. My code works just fine there.