Beta Release: Cycle 8 Feature Release Preview

BrendanZagaeskiBrendanZagaeski USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai
edited September 2016 in General

This thread has now been closed to direct all further updates about this release onto the latest announcement:

http://forums.xamarin.com/discussion/77123/stable-channel-cycle-8-feature-release-ios-10-and-xcode-8-sdk-bindings/p1


Please see https://releases.xamarin.com/beta-preview-4-cycle-8/ for the details about this release.

This is a Beta preview of the next major feature release, called Cycle 8. It has several known issues under investigation, but as mentioned in the Release Blog post, the Xamarin engineering team is looking for as much additional user feedback via Bugzilla as possible on these Cycle 8 Beta versions, especially for the iOS 10 and Xcode 8 features.

Bug reports wanted!

  • Please file a quick bug report using the "Cycle 8 Preview" new bug form if you see any behavior that looks suspicious in these versions (and if it isn’t clear whether one of the known issues in the release notes matches the problem).

  • Comment in this forum thread if your question is not related to a suspicious behavior after installation, but instead one of the following:

    • You notice an error in the Release Blog post.
    • You have trouble downloading one of the installer packages.

Running tally of user-submitted bug reports starting with the Beta release on August 17

The Xamarin team is working to review each newly submitted bug to update its status from NEW.

                          NEW  Reviewed
Xamarin.Android           2    5
Xamarin.iOS               1    23
Xamarin.Mac               0    1
Visual Studio Extensions  2    12
Xamarin Studio            3    10
Mono                      0    4

Totals                    8    55

(This is a snapshot of the live report from Bugzilla as of September 13 02:25 UTC. It will be updated periodically.)


Bug report tally updates

  • September 13 02:25 UTC: 8 NEW bugs, 55 reviewed bugs
  • September 09 18:01 UTC: 8 NEW bugs, 45 reviewed bugs
  • September 08 04:23 UTC: 2 NEW bugs, 42 reviewed bugs
  • August 31 21:23 UTC: 2 NEW bugs, 30 reviewed bugs
  • August 30 02:11 UTC: 2 NEW bugs, 24 reviewed bugs
  • August 23 20:14 UTC: 2 NEW bugs, 11 reviewed bugs
  • August 22 23:31 UTC: 1 NEW bug, 10 reviewed bugs
  • August 20 20:44 UTC: 0 NEW bugs, 6 reviewed bugs
  • August 20 16:06 UTC: 3 NEW bugs, 3 reviewed bugs
  • August 19 25:02 UTC: 6 total bugs
  • August 18 19:44 UTC: 4 total bugs

Posts

  • BradChase.2654BradChase.2654 USMember ✭✭✭

    OK So debugging is still broken on Android using the newest Xamarin. The debugger bombs out. Last working version was 4.0.4.4. Here is the screenshot:

  • BrendanZagaeskiBrendanZagaeski USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai
    edited August 2016

    Hi Brad,

    Please file a bug report for that issue if you haven't already. (And if you have already, feel free to update the bug with a comment that indicates the latest versions tested and update the Version field accordingly.) Thanks!

  • BradChase.2654BradChase.2654 USMember ✭✭✭
    edited August 2016

    @BrendanZagaeski I am trying to but I cant remember my password :(. I am trying to reset it but its not sending me a token. I will if I ever can get logged in, so for now atleast its here.

    NM I just used my old account.

    Bug 43544

  • DavidSchwegler.8050DavidSchwegler.8050 USMember
    edited August 2016

    Hi,

    It appears something broke in the current Alpha. My coworker is on a previous alpha, and it works for him. Rolling back to stable avoids the crash for me (and switching back to Alpha fails again). Is there a file that's missing somewhere on the current Alpha?

    Problem: In release mode things work fine, but in debug mode the app crashes at startup. At the end of the AOT module loading block, Java.Interop/System.Runtime fails.

    [Mono] Config attempting to parse: 'Java.Interop.dll.config'.
    [Mono] Config attempting to parse: '/Users/builder/data/lanes/3511/f7421548/source/monodroid/builds/install/mono-x86/etc/mono/assemblies/Java.Interop/Java.Interop.config'.
    [Mono] Assembly Ref addref Mono.Android[0xf3f69280] -> Java.Interop[0xf3f692e0]: 2
    [Mono] Assembly Loader probing location: '/Users/builder/data/lanes/3511/f7421548/source/monodroid/builds/install/mono-x86/lib/mono/gac/System.Runtime/4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Runtime.dll'.
    [Mono] Assembly Loader probing location: '/Users/builder/data/lanes/3511/f7421548/source/monodroid/builds/install/mono-x86/lib/System.Runtime.dll'.
    [Mono] Assembly Loader probing location: '/Users/builder/data/lanes/3511/f7421548/source/monodroid/builds/install/mono-x86/lib/mono/gac/System.Runtime/4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Runtime.exe'.
    [Mono] Assembly Loader probing location: '/Users/builder/data/lanes/3511/f7421548/source/monodroid/builds/install/mono-x86/lib/System.Runtime.exe'.
    [Mono] Assembly Loader probing location: '/Users/builder/data/lanes/3511/f7421548/source/monodroid/builds/install/mono-x86/lib/mono/gac/System.Runtime/4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Runtime.dll'.
    [Mono] Assembly Loader probing location: '/System.Runtime.dll'.
    [Mono] Assembly Loader probing location: '/Users/builder/data/lanes/3511/f7421548/source/monodroid/builds/install/mono-x86/lib/System.Runtime.dll'.
    [Mono] Assembly Loader probing location: '/Users/builder/data/lanes/3511/f7421548/source/monodroid/builds/install/mono-x86/lib/mono/gac/System.Runtime/4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Runtime.exe'.
    [Mono] Assembly Loader probing location: '/System.Runtime.exe'.
    [Mono] Assembly Loader probing location: '/Users/builder/data/lanes/3511/f7421548/source/monodroid/builds/install/mono-x86/lib/System.Runtime.exe'.
    [Mono] The following assembly referenced from Java.Interop.dll could not be loaded:
    [Mono] Assembly: System.Runtime (assemblyref_index=1)
    [Mono] Version: 4.0.0.0
    [Mono] Public Key: b03f5f7f11d50a3a
    [Mono] The assembly was not found in the Global Assembly Cache, a path listed in the MONO_PATH environment variable, or in the location of the executing assembly (/).
    [Mono] Failed to load assembly Java.Interop[0xf3f692e0]
    [mono-rt] Stacktrace:

    6.1.2.21 Stable works for me

    === Xamarin Studio Community ===

    Version 6.0.2 (build 73)
    Runtime:
    Mono 4.4.2 (mono-4.4.0-branch-c7sr1/f72fe45) (64-bit)

    === Xamarin.Android ===

    Version: 6.1.2.21 (Xamarin Studio Community)
    Android SDK: /Users/dschwegler/Library/Developer/Xamarin/android-sdk-macosx
    Supported Android versions:
    4.0.3 (API level 15)
    4.4 (API level 19)
    5.0 (API level 21)
    6.0 (API level 23)

    SDK Tools Version: 25.1.7
    SDK Platform Tools Version: 24.0.1
    SDK Build Tools Version: 24.0.0

    java version "1.8.0_77"

    === Operating System ===

    Mac OS X 10.11.5

    6.2.0.33 Alpha works for my coworker

    === Xamarin Studio Community ===
    Version 6.1 (build 5338)
    Runtime:
    Mono 4.6.0 (mono-4.6.0-branch/e571108) (64-bit)
    === Xamarin.Android ===
    Version: 6.2.0.33 (Xamarin Studio Community)
    Android SDK: /Users/roy.dammarell/Library/Android/sdk
    Supported Android versions:
    2.3 (API level 10)
    4.0.3 (API level 15)
    4.1 (API level 16)
    4.3 (API level 18)
    4.4 (API level 19)
    5.0 (API level 21)
    5.1 (API level 22)
    6.0 (API level 23)
    SDK Tools Version: 25.2.1
    SDK Platform Tools Version: 24.0.1
    SDK Build Tools Version: 24.0.0

    java version "1.8.0_31"

    === Operating System ===
    Mac OS X 10.11.6

    6.2.0.36 Alpha does not work for me

    === Xamarin Studio Community ===

    Version 6.1 (build 5345)
    Installation UUID: b8e55913-dd86-416f-8bf9-112a7c76c3e2
    Runtime:
    Mono 4.6.0 (mono-4.6.0-branch/d0fc1a6) (64-bit)

    === Xamarin.Android ===

    Version: 6.2.0.36 (Xamarin Studio Community)
    Android SDK: /Users/dschwegler/Library/Developer/Xamarin/android-sdk-macosx
    Supported Android versions:
    4.0.3 (API level 15)
    4.4 (API level 19)
    5.0 (API level 21)
    6.0 (API level 23)

    SDK Tools Version: 25.1.7
    SDK Platform Tools Version: 24.0.1
    SDK Build Tools Version: 24.0.0

    java version "1.8.0_77"

    === Operating System ===

    Mac OS X 10.11.5

  • BrendanZagaeskiBrendanZagaeski USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai
    edited August 2016

    Hi David,

    Please file a bug report for that issue if you haven't already. Thanks!

    If you still have time to edit your post, I'd also recommend shortening it. Most of the verbose information there would best be placed in the bug report to help keep the forum comments concise and readable. Thanks again!

  • Done. Sorry Brendan. Feel free to mod edit to shorten it. I'm so used to being asked for version info as the first question... ;) https://bugzilla.xamarin.com/show_bug.cgi?id=43609

  • BrendanZagaeskiBrendanZagaeski USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai
    edited August 2016

    No worries. Thanks for the bug report! Definitely a good habit to have to include all the version information. I went ahead and trimmed down the version info in the forum comment a tiny bit for compactness.

  • rmaciasrmacias USBeta, University ✭✭✭✭✭

    I also just added a new bug report. Included a small sample project and a build log that shows the exception from the compiler. Let me know if you all need more info!

  • TomPeerTomPeer USMember ✭✭
    edited August 2016

    In relation to this post https://forums.xamarin.com/discussion/comment/213737/#Comment_213737 Xamarin.VisualStudio_4.2.0.508 works fine, but with 584 I get a new error:

    Error 1721. There is a problem with this Windows Installer package. A program required for this install to complete could not be run. Contact your support personnel or package vendor. Action: vimF2094B2EA1ED531622DC6700496EF190, location: , command: /q "C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VisualStudio\Merq.vsix" /admin

  • BrendanZagaeskiBrendanZagaeski USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai

    Hi Tom,

    Please file a bug report for that issue if you haven't already. I haven't seen that issue locally across a couple different computers where I've installed the latest Beta, so be sure to include details about your environment including the operating system and versions of Xamarin and any dependencies. If you get a chance, you can also collect the verbose .msi install logs (see "Individual .msi installers" on https://kb.xamarin.com/customer/en/portal/articles/1675684) and attach those on the bug too.

    Thanks!

  • TomPeerTomPeer USMember ✭✭

    My english is to bad for a good bug report. I think the only different between my computer and your test machines is, that my machine is complete Visual Studio free. ;)

  • AndyDentAndyDent AUMember ✭✭

    The current beta reliably produces an error on IOS as I mentioned in a forum

    Error CS1070: The type System.Dynamic.IDynamicMetaObjectProvider' 
    has been forwarded to an assembly that is not referenced. 
    Consider adding a reference to assembly System.Core, Version=2.0.5.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=7cec85d7bea7798e' (CS1070) (Realm.XamarinIOS)
    

    That version of System.Core is already included in the project.

    The project, part of the Realm for Xamarin build, works fine with stable. Downloading and building another copy gets the same error, so it seems to be independent of anything locally cached in the directory. (I tried cleaning all bin and obj anyway).

  • BrendanZagaeskiBrendanZagaeski USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai
    edited August 2016

    Hi Andy,

    Please file a quick bug report for that issue if you haven't already. Thanks!

  • AndyDentAndyDent AUMember ✭✭

    Hmmm, I think I have resolved it. For some reason, it was previously working with the reference only in the platform project (a unit test runner). Now it also requires it in the library DLL project being used by the platform project. So this is probably not a bug but the IDE being fussier.

    Sorry for the false alarm. I just double-checked and the stable build is quite happy with that reference missing!

  • FokkeVermeulenFokkeVermeulen DEMember ✭✭

    @BrendanZagaeski

    Is that a bug?

    I have a local nuget source, but cannot select the source in adding packages. Added screenshots, where you can see it.

    have version 6.1 (build 5365)

  • BrendanZagaeskiBrendanZagaeski USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai
    edited August 2016

    Is that a bug?

    That sounds at first glance like it fits in the category of "any behavior that looks suspicious," so please do file a quick bug report. I or another member of the Xamarin team can then double-check the behavior as part of reviewing that particular bug. Thanks!

  • TomPeerTomPeer USMember ✭✭

    @BrendanZagaeski said:
    Hi Tom,

    Please file a bug report for that issue if you haven't already. I haven't seen that issue locally across a couple different computers where I've installed the latest Beta, so be sure to include details about your environment including the operating system and versions of Xamarin and any dependencies. If you get a chance, you can also collect the verbose .msi install logs (see "Individual .msi installers" on https://kb.xamarin.com/customer/en/portal/articles/1675684) and attach those on the bug too.

    Thanks!

    Hello. Xamarin.VisualStudio_4.2.0.628.msi have the same problem. I would like to try to fill a bug report, but I don't know, which product I have to choose for this installer.

  • BrendanZagaeskiBrendanZagaeski USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai

    I would like to try to fill a bug report

    That would be awesome if you get a chance. I've been meaning to get back to testing that scenario locally, but I hadn't yet managed to get back down through my queue to it. So if do get a chance to file a quick bug report for it that would be excellent.

    You can file it under "Visual Studio" because it's the Xamarin Visual Studio team who handles creating the Xamarin .msi installer for Windows.

    Thanks again!

  • MikeeSouthMikeeSouth USMember ✭✭

    I'm using Visual Studio 15 (Preview 3) and when upgrading to beta (Cycle 8, beta 3) both my Android and iOS projects got incompatible and Visual Studio can't load them. Any ideas on what is wrong?

    I created a new project and previously there was some "Native" project templates. These seems to be gone in favour of only Xamarin Forms templates. I'm not using Xamarin Forms but maybe that's the only option further down the road? If that is the case, I will switch immediately. I read somewhere that you can switch over to custom layouts even when using Forms so maybe it is to prefer.

    All help is appreciated.

  • JohnHairJohnHair GBMember ✭✭✭✭

    I read somewhere that plugins don't yet work in the VS15 previews, maybe that's the issue?

  • MikeeSouthMikeeSouth USMember ✭✭

    Plugins work AFAIK. I switched to Visual Studio 15 Preview 4 and the Xamarin that comes bundled with it works great. I tried to upgrade to Beta channel but that did not work out. The installation seemed fine but I got loads of errors when starting VS and the Xamarin.Android and Xamarin.iOS templates (project/solution) were not available.

    In the mean while I'll just stick to the bundled Xamarin with VS 15 Preview.

    Could you shed some light on the VS Preview 15 support @BrendanZagaeski ?
    Should I report it as a bug for the Xamarin Beta cycle?

  • BrendanZagaeskiBrendanZagaeski USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai
    edited September 2016

    incompatible and Visual Studio can't load them

    I'm not aware of anything specific to the VS 15 developer previews, but I also haven't had occasion to try those previews myself.

    One common cause of this problem on any VS version can be issues with Visual Studio's ComponentModelCache mechanism. See for example:

    As mentioned there, the thing to try is to delete the cache folder. For example for VS 2015:

    %LOCALAPPDATA%\Microsoft\VisualStudio\14.0\ComponentModelCache

    If that doesn't sort it out, there are a couple more things you can try (see also this thread):

    And of course if none of those helps, then yes that would fit in the category of "any behavior that looks suspicious," so please do file a quick bug report. Thanks in advance.


    For cross-referencing, another similar recent thread:

  • alekssmykalekssmyk USMember ✭✭✭

    It seems that listviewcachingstrategy recycleelement doesnt work. Here is my topic. http://forums.xamarin.com/discussion/76399/listviewcachingstrategy-recycleelement-freezes-in-ios-10#latest

  • alekssmykalekssmyk USMember ✭✭✭

    Xamarin.Mobile doesn't support iOS 10 too.
    var book = new Xamarin.Contacts.AddressBook ();
    if (!await book.RequestPermission()) {
    return null;
    }
    It throws UnhandledException. I tested on the simulator.

  • NealCulinerNealCuliner USBeta ✭✭✭

    I just updated to the BETA channel this morning (Sept 9) to test prior to next week's stable. I'm trying to run a debug/iPhone SIM build and I'm getting the error below. I have linker set to DON'T LINK for the SIM. Why is this message occurring when I choose not to link at all?

    Error MT0091: This version of Xamarin.iOS requires the iOS 10.0 SDK (shipped with Xcode 8.0) when the managed linker is disabled. Either upgrade Xcode, or enable the managed linker. (MT0091)

  • TomPeerTomPeer USMember ✭✭

    @BrendanZagaeski said:

    I would like to try to fill a bug report

    That would be awesome if you get a chance. I've been meaning to get back to testing that scenario locally, but I hadn't yet managed to get back down through my queue to it. So if do get a chance to file a quick bug report for it that would be excellent.

    You can file it under "Visual Studio" because it's the Xamarin Visual Studio team who handles creating the Xamarin .msi installer for Windows.

    Thanks again!

    My bug is not fixed in the new version and not listed in the first post. Is it not listed because it is "private"? I saw this to late, your "new" bug report form use "private" as default.

  • TaylorFisherTaylorFisher USMember
    edited September 2016

    I'm also seeing the issue referenced by TomPeer above, and my english is fine, expect bug report incoming soon.

  • BrendanZagaeskiBrendanZagaeski USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai
    • It seems that listviewcachingstrategy recycleelement doesnt work. Here is my topic.

    • Xamarin.Mobile doesn't support iOS 10 too.

    Please do file quick bug reports for those if you haven't already so that the engineering team can investigate. Thanks in advance!

  • BrendanZagaeskiBrendanZagaeski USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai

    I have linker set to DON'T LINK for the SIM. Why is this message occurring when I choose not to link at all?

    Error MT0091: This version of Xamarin.iOS requires the iOS 10.0 SDK (shipped with Xcode 8.0) when the managed linker is disabled. Either upgrade Xcode, or enable the managed linker. (MT0091)

    That error is appearing because Xamarin.iOS 10 adds support for the new SDKs provided by Xcode 8. Any time that happens, Xamarin.iOS must be built against the new Xcode version and accordingly add the new symbols from the new Xcode version. (For example, the same error appears when attempting to use Xamarin.iOS 9.8 with Xcode 7.1.) It is still possible to build using the older version of Xcode, but it is necessary to enable the Xamarin linker in the project options so that the linker can remove the new Xcode 8 symbols. Those new symbols cannot be resolved by the Xcode 7.3 build toolchain, so it is necessary to allow the Xamarin linker to remove them.

  • BrendanZagaeskiBrendanZagaeski USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai
    edited September 2016

    My bug is not fixed in the new version and not listed in the first post. Is it not listed because it is "private"? I saw this to late, your "new" bug report form use "private" as default.

    I believe your bug is Bug 43950. That bug is included in the count in the first post in the thread: I have included both public and non-public bugs in the count. Your bug should be visible to you in that list (since you are the reporter). For example, it should appear for you in the query specific to the Visual Studio extensions.

    At this moment, Bug 43950 is marked as CONFIRMED by the Xamarin team, which means the team has been able to replicate the issue and is now investigating how to fix the issue in a future build.

  • ThibaultDThibaultD SEMember ✭✭✭
    edited September 2016

    I tried the Beta last week. Not sure if it was the latest release, the one that came on the 8th or earlier.

    But it seems that I stumbled upon this bug although it's marked as resolved:
    https://bugzilla.xamarin.com/show_bug.cgi?id=41653
    Error: TrustFailure (CertificateUnknown) when trying to contact my Azure back-end using TLS/SSL.

    Mono version was 4.6.0, Xamarin Forms 2.3.1 and iOS 10
    Back-end is Azure, Traffic Manager (DNS) sending toward a Web App.
    The Web App should deliver an SSL certificate based in the Traffic Manager A record.
    When the Web App is called explicitly, the *.azurewebsites.net certificate is delivered and no such problem happens.

    I temporarily solved the problem by switching back to building with Cycle 7 (Mono 4.4.2) but this does not seem to be a long-term solution as we will have to build with XCode 8 some day.
    Switching to Mono TLS 1.0 also works as suggested in the previous bug, although it's not a good solution.

    I'm wondering if anyone else has seen that and if I should take the time to file a bug with more information with which constellation of XForms/Mono/XCode is affected by the bug.

  • xCyborgxCyborg USMember ✭✭

    The new Beta's don't work with Visual Stusio "15" and on top of that the istaller has some issues and interrupts installing sometimes, especially .628!
    I tried everything here, I even reset Windows and reinstalled everything.
    Now what?

  • BrendanZagaeskiBrendanZagaeski USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai

    But it seems that I stumbled upon this bug although it's marked as resolved:
    https://bugzilla.xamarin.com/show_bug.cgi?id=41653
    Error: TrustFailure (CertificateUnknown) when trying to contact my Azure back-end using TLS/SSL.

    I updated the bug report, and I'll add the regression of that bug to the list of known issues.

  • BrendanZagaeskiBrendanZagaeski USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai

    The new Beta's don't work with Visual Stusio "15" and on top of that the istaller has some issues and interrupts installing sometimes

    That definitely sounds like "any behavior that looks suspicious" (from the first post in the thread), so please do file quick bug reports for those issues (ideally 2 separate issues if the issues seem to to happen independently of each other). Be sure to include your detailed version info and any relevant logs (see also the guide on bug filing). Many thanks for trying the Beta, and thanks in advance for the bug reports!

  • ThibaultDThibaultD SEMember ✭✭✭

    @BrendanZagaeski said:

    I updated the bug report, and I'll add the regression of that bug to the list of known issues.

    Ok thank you @BrendanZagaeski . And thank you for the explanation of issues management on the previous bug that I commented. I usually create new reports but because I could not find anyone else experiencing the issue, I could not see it documented in the know issue and the only thing I could find was a report marked as fixed I was wondering if I had been doing anything wrong.

  • BrendanZagaeskiBrendanZagaeski USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai

    This thread has now been closed to direct all further updates about this release onto the latest announcement:

    http://forums.xamarin.com/discussion/77123/stable-channel-cycle-8-feature-release-ios-10-and-xcode-8-sdk-bindings/p1

This discussion has been closed.