Forms project and obfuscation

FrancMoralesFrancMorales JPMember ✭✭

I have some experience obfuscating Xamarin Android projects but I'm hitting a wall with Xamarin Forms. The linker does not accept the obfuscated DLL.

Has anyone gotten an obfuscator to work with Xamarin Forms? If so, which?

Thank you all.

Answers

• FrancMoralesFrancMorales JPMember ✭✭

I should add that this is a problem with PCL projects only. The linker accepts obfuscated dll's in shared projects (it throws a warning but not an error).

• MichaelRumplerMichaelRumpler ATMember ✭✭✭✭✭

You should mention which obfuscator you use, how you configured the obfuscator and linker and what the exact error is.

Unfortunately I cannot help you there. Obfuscation is a requirement for my current app (on Android), but I didn't try it yet. So I am interested in your findings in this area.

• FrancMoralesFrancMorales JPMember ✭✭

I've used several obfuscators and I would use any one that works.

The LinkAssemblies error is:

Xamarin.Android.XamarinAndroidException: error XA2006: Reference to metadata item...

The problem is a combination of naming protections and when/how to insert the obfuscated dll in the archiving process.

• codemaster007codemaster007 USMember ✭✭

I can do the obfuscation in xamarin android but in xamarin forms how do you obfuscate too dlls ? Any suggestions or hint?

• codemaster007codemaster007 USMember ✭✭

thanks for the answer.

• huangjinshehuangjinshe USMember ✭✭✭

Did you guys tied .NET Reactor? Looks like it support for Xamarin, And they have a tools for Visual Studio for one click protect your assembly.

• knottydevknottydev USMember ✭✭

I had no issues using dotfuscator and following this guide: https://www.preemptive.com/dotfuscator/pro/userguide/en/getting_started_xamarin.html

... using the community edition and Visual Studio 2017 CE

• devcatdevcat Member ✭✭

Michael,