How do I accrss a fragment's button click inside my activity?

I'm a new Xamarin developer, using Visual Studio 2015, with the DesignCompat Library
I have a MainActivity that replaces fragments.

One of my fragments contains a list of buttons. These buttons need to load other fragments.
So I thought I would display the buttons, then handle the button's click event inside the MainActivity. That sounded right to be because the MainActivity could load the fragments and be the traffic cop.
I could not find a way to access the MainActivity from the Fragment, ir the Fragment's buttons from the MainActivity.
I could convert this all to separate activity's but I thought that was wrong.

But I can't seem to get a handle to the button object. It tells me object is null.

I've been googling this for 2 hours.
Any help would be great.

Best Answer

Answers

• rachelbiddlerachelbiddle GBMember

Did you find any answers to this as I have same problem, everything I find is in Java and I'm coding in C#

• GaryParkinGaryParkin USMember ✭✭

There's a different way. Get the MainActivity object and use it to call a method in the main activity that you can pass the info to, but I'm not sure its the correct way. The event seems cleaner and it stays disconnected.

• eddyizmeddyizm USMember ✭✭

Gary, I've been having the exact same problem all day. Not sure why this is so hard but I also cannot find a single line of code that works. I'm curious on your FragMyActivities class, it seems like you have some code duplicated. Could you clarify? I'm trying to see if I could use your solution but that part doesn't seem right.

• TalkTrueTalkTrue GHMember

Is possible to have a click event that takes you from a fragment to a new activity.
    I spend hours on the same problem but finally found a simple solution to it. I quest this will help my collages developers who are also new to xamarin.

First, make sure you Get all of the buttons using: