What is the appropriate way to store a CookieContainer to persist throughout app lifecycle?

ErikR.9376ErikR.9376 USUniversity
edited May 2016 in Xamarin.Forms

I'll preface this question with I'm new to C# and Xamarin, and working on my first Xamarin Forms app, targeting iOS and Android.

The app is using HttpClient to pass requests to an api, and the headers in the response return session cookies that are used to identify the current user. So once I've received an initial response and those cookies have been stored in the CookieContainer, I want to store that CookieContainer in some global scope so it can be reused and passed with all subsequent requests.

I've read that attempting to serialize the cookies data can be problematic, and HttpOnly cookies are included in the response, which I apparently can't access in the CookieContainer. Because of this, I've also tried enumerating through the values returned in the Set-Cookie header and storing it as a comma delimited string, then using SetCookies on the CookieContainer with that string for subsequent requests. But that seems overly complex and trying to do so results in a consistent, vague error "Operation is not valid due to the current state of the object." when requests are made. So I'm hoping to simply reuse the entire CookieContainer object.

So more pointedly, my questions are:

1. Where is an appropriate place to store a CookieContainer object so that it will persist throughout the app's lifecycle, and preferably still be available when the app goes into the background and is resumed. Is simply declaring it as a static variable in my WebServices class good enough?

2. If I do reuse the CookieContainer in this way, will the individual cookies be automatically updated on subsequent requests if more are added or the values of existing ones sent by the server change?