Forum General
We are excited to announce that the Xamarin Forums are moving to the new Microsoft Q&A experience. Q&A is the home for technical questions and answers at across all products at Microsoft now including Xamarin!

We encourage you to head over to Microsoft Q&A for .NET for posting new questions and get involved today.

Can't run MonoGame (basic openGL project, unable to load SDL_mixxer.dll)

mxanmxan DEMember
edited January 2016 in General

Hi there,
I'm new to C# and Xamarin. I picked it to make a small game for multiple platforms, especially for Linux and Windows. On windows 7 I installed:
-mono-4.2.1.102-gtksharp-2.12.30-win32-0.msi
-gtk-sharp-2.12.30.msi (couldn't install Xamarin without that)
-XamarinStudio-5.10.0.871-0.msi

I created a new Solution for MonoGame Application (Open GL) and tried to run it.
The created program stopped working and Windows dropped me a System.DllNotFoundException.

After Xamarin created the new Solution I get two file conflict warnings:
-OpenTk.dll.config already exists in project. Overwrite it?
-Tao.SDL.dll.config already exists in project. Overwrite it?

If I run “Start Debugging” in Xamarin menu I get two warnings:

-C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v4.0.30319\Microsoft.Common.targets(5,5): Warning MSB3644: The reference assemblies for framework ".NETFramework,Version=v4.5" were not found. To resolve this, install the SDK or Targeting Pack for this framework version or retarget your application to a version of the framework for which you have the SDK or Targeting Pack installed. Note that assemblies will be resolved from the Global Assembly Cache (GAC) and will be used in place of reference assemblies. Therefore your assembly may not be correctly targeted for the framework you intend. (MSB3644)

-C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v4.0.30319\Microsoft.Common.targets(5,5): Warning MSB3247: Found conflicts between different versions of the same dependent assembly. (MSB3247)