Forum Libraries, Components, and Plugins

Performance on WP8

Hi there, I am pretty new to the CocosSharp an I am trying to learn the basic concepts in developing a game.
I have some questions regarding the performance on WP platform:

• I have started with creating the template project located in CocosSharp -> Windows -> "Empty Game Windowp Phone 8" in the New Project menu in VS Comunity 2013.
    By default this project will have the CocosSharp PCL v1.6.1 referenced. I did a manual update to the last version available on nuget.

• The test and debugging was made on the WP8 Emulator WVGA with 512MB of RAM. The FPS counter was in the range of 60 FPS. All good.
    Now comes the interesting part: when testing on WP8/WP8.1 Emulator 720p or higher, the fps is low (in the range of 23-30fps). Also the same results are obtained on the real device (720p device, 1GB of RAM running WP8.1);

To summarize:
Is there a known issues regarding the performance on HD devices (maybe related with the design resolution setting)?
Is the FPS counter reliable on WP8 project?
One last thing I did noticed is that when using TTF fonts packed in xnb format (used in the CCLabel) the application is not correctly resumed, the label text is missing, is there a workaround?

Thank you in advance!

Answers

• obertr0nobertr0n ROMember

I have created an empty WP8 project and just added the code to output the reported resolution and the design resolution. Here are some screenshots to illustrate the issue:

1. 720p WP emulator running WP8.1
    2. 720p WP emulator running WP8.1
    3. 720p WP emulator running WP8.1
    4. WVGA WP emulator running WP8.1

I am open to ideas on how I can fix this. Thank you.

• kjpou1kjpou1 LUMember, Xamarin Team Xamurai

Alex

Have you taken a look at the Getting Started topic on Multiple Resolutions? That might help.

@kjpou1
    First of all, thank you for your reply.,