Problems building iOS as dev on another company's team

EdHubbellEdHubbell USMember ✭✭

I convinced a company to go with Xamarin on the premise that if they ever wanted to move to iOS, we'd be all set. That day has come. As predicted based on my experience with Cordova, with iOS is it isn't so much the code as the distribution that would be challenging.

I can't seem to successfully sign and upload the iOS app so we can run it on TestFlight. I could probably do it on my own dev account, but not under their company account (even though I'm an admin).

To hash this out, we need details. Here they come. Over on https://developer.apple.com:

Under Identifiers, App IDs, we have:

Name: SomeAppName
Prefix: 2WXU6CAWT7
ID: com.somecompany.SomeAppName

The provisioning profile is like so:

Name: SomeAppName Dev Provisioning Profile
Type: iOS Distribution
App ID: SomeAppName (2WXU6CAWT7.com.somecompany.SomeAppName)
Certificates: 1 total

Back in Xamarin, we've got 2 ways to fail.

Situation 1:

If info.plist screen contents look like this:

Application Name: SomeAppName
Bundle Identifier: 2WXU6CAWT7.com.somecompany.SomeAppName

Then when we go to Build...iOS Bundle Signing screen, we get the dreaded 'No Matching Profiles Found' under Provisioning Profiles. This is with the Signing Identity set to Distribution: SomeCompany Inc. (2WXU6CAWT7)

This condition is no good - The app won't build due to the lack of a valid provisioning profile. More to the point, it won't build because Xamarin THINKS there is no matching provisioning profile.

Situation 2:

If we change the info.plist like so and cut out the company prefix:
Application Name: SomeAppName
Bundle Identifier: com.somecompany.SomeAppName

Then, it seems that things start to come together. Over in Build...iOS Bundle Signing, the Distribution and Provisioning Profile dropdowns contain the expected values (in this case, SomeAppName Dev Provisioning Profile). The app builds just fine.