Forum Cross Platform with Xamarin

Announcement:

The Xamarin Forums have officially moved to the new Microsoft Q&A experience. Microsoft Q&A is the home for technical questions and answers at across all products at Microsoft now including Xamarin!

To create new threads and ask questions head over to Microsoft Q&A for .NET and get involved today.

First approach and first question(s)

Hi,

I'm a newbie of this type of programming. I'm testing the trial version and I wonder why, when I start a new xamarin.form project (cross-platform), it asks me to link it with a mac. Why? And why if I try to run an android app, it starts looking for a device?

I'm using it with visual studio. Maybe is it better if I use it with xamarin studio? (but why, in xamarin studio, the ios radio button is grey and not enabled?)

Sorry for the dumb questions, I hope you will help me :)

Answers

• When you create a new Xamarin.Forms solution, you have 4 different Projects in there. A PCL library (or that shared thing) an Android Project, an iOS Project ans a WinPhone project. To be able to compile the iOS project you will need a build host, like a mac mini or something ,therefore it asks you to link it to one.

• PippodePippode USMember

But, so... I need to write 4 different project? I was thinking the cross platform works with one project, then it is compiled in 4 different native languages... so it isn't... or not? Have I to write 4 different projects? Where are the advantages?

• DavidStrickland0DavidStrickland0 USMember ✭✭✭

It is possible to Ignore the other 3 and just work with the one. You should have 1 project that has no .xxx extension this is your PCL and the Core of Xamarin Forms.