Forum Xamarin.Android

Web service creation and consumption in an Android app

astahirastahir USMember ✭✭

Hello everyone,

I am very new to mobile development and currently needs to develop an app in Android using Xamarin.Android. I have worked in ASP.NET for some time now.

Okay now to the question: I have created a MySQL database and also the prototype of the Android app. Now I need to create web service to make the two communicate. Can any of you guide me / share a tutorial / code example / article that tells how to create as well as consume web services? I don't have a preference regarding the type of web service used (REST / XML / JSON). The only aim is to be able to create web service that can let me fetch and save data on the database from my app.

Thanks,
Ahmed

Best Answers

Answers

• rmaciasrmacias USBeta, University ✭✭✭✭✭

If your very familiar with ASP.Net mvc, the I'd recommend building a restful service using ASP.NET Web API. Very slick and easy to use. You can call it from your Android app the same way as any other .NET project.

http://www.asp.net/web-api/overview/getting-started-with-aspnet-web-api/tutorial-your-first-web-api

• astahirastahir USMember ✭✭

Thanks Ruben for your response but I am afraid I haven't worked on MVC. Anyway, I created a JSON WCF REST service and now I will start looking for a tutorial / article that helps me consume the service in my Xamarin.Android app.

Can you help me there?

Hello everyone,

I have been trying to consume a web service throughout the day today but in vain! I have written a WCF REST JSON web service but couldn't consumer it. Then I wrote a simple .NET ASMX web service and tried to consume it as well but to no avail. Can you share a link of a tutorial / article / video that gives a step-by-step guide to consume a web service in Xamarin.Android app?

Any help in this regard will be highly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Ahmed