Use C++ type without copying

Dear all,

Being a newbie I don't know if this is a recurrent topic... please forgive the question if this is the case.

I have a Xamarin.Forms test application that I'd like to link with a C++ library. So far, I've created an interface in the Forms project, and in iOS I've written an implementation class that calls the native library. It works, but now I need to pass significant data between the two.

How can I pass and retrieve data from the C++ library without copying it?

Reading online I've seen here that I can copy data to/from plain old data, like arrays, but I'd like to do this without any duplication.

Moreover, is it possible to use C++ types like std::vector or std::map?

Thanks!

Tagged:

• adamkempadamkemp USInsider, Developer Group Leader mod

You're going to be very limited in what you can access from C# without copying. You can do structs (if you use attributes to control the layout of the struct in C#) and arrays, but anything that isn't a POD type in C++ should be considered off limits. A detailed description of what that means can be found here. Trying to do this with STL data structures is not a good idea. Instead you should either define your data structures in C++ to be friendly to use outside of C++ or you should provide a C++ API for dealing with the data within C++.

• FrancoMilicchioFrancoMilicchio ITMember ✭✭

Thanks Adam, can you clarify how I can have a C#/struct pairing with attributes? I am really a newbie here...

Thank you!

See here.

Thanks @adamkemp, I was able to compile something! However, it seems that I don't understand the layout with two different functions. I tried to use a pointer and return a class. The class, as suggested by your link, is packed and standard layout:

//===== H FILE =====
    #pragma pack(push, 1)
    class stuff
    {
    public:
        char c;
        int  i;
    };
    #pragma pack(pop)

extern "C" int doStuff();

extern "C" void usePtr(stuff *p);