General Question Regarding Visual Studio 2015 & Mac Mini Build Host Set Up

JayHonJayHon USMember

Alright, so here is the question. I have an INDIE subscription, and currently do all of my development for iOS on my Mac Mini.
I do all of my other, .Net development on a Windows Laptop running VS.

So, my question is.....if I use the FREE Xamarin tools for VS 2015, but use my Mac Mini as my build server, running on my INDIE subscription, would that work? Would it work for large applications, or would the FREE Xamarin tools for VS 2015, limit the size, even though my Build Server has a subscription?

I tried using Xamarin Studio on Windows as my Dev and the Mac Mini as a build host, but Xamarin Studio on Windows doesn't support iOS Development, from what I can tell.

Thanks!

• DaveHuntDaveHunt USMember ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 2015

You have to have a Business or higher license to use Xamarin plugin for Visual Studio.

If you're a registered Windows Phone developer, you can get a free Xamarin subscription that includes the Xamarin plugin. See this blog post.

• JayHonJayHon USMember

Thanks, two things. First, I thought VS 2015 CAME with the Xamarin Plugin Free?

https://www.visualstudio.com/en-us/features/xamarin-vs.aspx

Secondly, I think the post you sent would be cool, but it says on the page 'This Offer Has Expired'.

It apparently expired in August 2015.....

• JasonAwbreyJasonAwbrey USInsider, University, Developer Group Leader mod

I think that's mixed messaging from MS. Xamarin support is built into VS2015, but you have to have the appropriate Xamarin license to take advantage of it.

Xamarin Studio on Windows does not support iOS, you're correct on that one.

• DaveHuntDaveHunt USMember ✭✭✭✭✭

Sorry about the expired offer. I completely missed the whole "for August" thing.