Is this informatoin true about Xamarin?

YonatanNYonatanN ILMember

Hello,
I am looking for a cross platform framework for a mobile app development. Since I love developing using .NET, it was natural for me checking out Xamarin, as I love static languages (and C# specifically) and don't like the dynamic ones that are common for other cross platform frameworks (HTML, CSS, JavaScript).
As I was searching for other frameworks just to see what's out there and if there's something for free (I am a private developer, so money is more of an issue to me) I came across another framework. They made a comparison of their framework to Xamarin and listed some items that a bit concern me about Xamarin and I'll be glad if you could elaborate on them.
Here are the few points they listed:

1) Xamarin UI code is not cross-platform: instead, the user needs to write specific code for each platform.
2) Xamarin often requires platform-specific coding.
3) Xamarin doesn’t support Linux.
4) With Xamarin, you still need to know ObjectiveC and Java.

Is there any truth to these points?

• JamesAltJamesAlt USUniversity ✭✭

Hello @YonatanN,

1) In general the answer to this one is no, the UI code is not cross-platform. If you are writing a Xamarin.iOS or Xamarin.Android app you generally have a shared code project (PCL) and then specific projects for the UI. This is so that you truly get a native application. That said, depending on your app, you can look into Xamarin.Forms which for the most part does cover everything with the need to sometimes write platform specific renderers.

2) I feel like this question is really just an extension of question 1, that's where you write platform-specific code.

3) As far as I know, it doesn't. You also need to have a mac available to do iOS development as your build server.