Is this informatoin true about Xamarin?

Hello,
I am looking for a cross platform framework for a mobile app development. Since I love developing using .NET, it was natural for me checking out Xamarin, as I love static languages (and C# specifically) and don't like the dynamic ones that are common for other cross platform frameworks (HTML, CSS, JavaScript).
As I was searching for other frameworks just to see what's out there and if there's something for free (I am a private developer, so money is more of an issue to me) I came across another framework. They made a comparison of their framework to Xamarin and listed some items that a bit concern me about Xamarin and I'll be glad if you could elaborate on them.
Here are the few points they listed:

1) Xamarin UI code is not cross-platform: instead, the user needs to write specific code for each platform.
2) Xamarin often requires platform-specific coding.
3) Xamarin doesn’t support Linux.
4) With Xamarin, you still need to know ObjectiveC and Java.

Is there any truth to these points?

Best Answers

Answers

• YonatanNYonatanN ILMember

@adamkemp Thank you for the reply!

regarding what you said about section 1 and 4.
    In section 1 you wrote: "the advantage is that you are using native APIs, which means your app is a native app. Anything someone can do in an Objective-C or Swift app for iOS you can do with Xamarin.iOS, and anything someone can do in a Java app for Android you can do with Xamarin.Android. There are no limitations."

And then in section 4: "When writing a Xamarin app you should pretty much never have to actually write Objective-C or Java code. Our (very complex) apps have zero Objective-C or Java code, and most of my team doesn't know a thing about those languages."