passing an object in the constructor to a clicked event

JenniferTruongJenniferTruong USMember, University

I'm pretty new to Xamarin and recently start trying to make an App using the Xamarin.Forms

XAML:

<Button Text="Quick Links" BackgroundColor="#99CCFF" Grid.Column = "2" Grid.ColumnSpan="2" TextColor="White" Clicked="OnQuickLinksButtonClicked" Command="{Binding Click}"/>

**Code Behind:
public partial class ProfileView : ContentPage
{
Patient globalPatient;
public ProfileView (Patient patient)
{
InitializeComponent ();
BindingContext = new ProfileViewModel (patient);
globalPatient = new Patient();
globalPatient = patient;
}

async void OnQuickLinksButtonClicked(object sender, EventArgs args)
       {
           await Navigation.PushAsync (new BarCodeView (globalPatient.Name)); 
        }
    }

My question is that how can I pass the patient object to the OnQuickLinksButtonClicked? I test the code above and the globalPatient.Name is empty.

Thanks!

Best Answer

Answers

• LesterMeeksLesterMeeks USMember ✭✭

Rather than using the Clicked event, you already are binding to the Command, you could bind what you need to the CommandParam. Unless I'm missing something, i don't think you need to be using the Clicked event and the Command. They are different ways to do the same thing.

developer.xamarin.com/guides/cross-platform/xamarin-forms/xaml-for-xamarin-forms/data_bindings_to_MVVM/

• JenniferTruongJenniferTruong USMember, University

Is there anyway for me to do it with Clicked event?

• ylemsoulylemsoul RUMember ✭✭✭

Is patient's Name property empty when you hit breakpoint in constructor?

• JodeAndrewsJodeAndrews GBMember
    edited July 2015

Tested your example and it works for me, the name property from a patient object is accessible in the Clicked eventhandler, you won't need 'globalPatient = new Patient();'

A few checks..