Can't use Xamarin Storyboard Editor

raveroravero USMember ✭✭
edited July 2015 in Xamarin.iOS

Hello folks,
I'm pretty new to Xamarin and I've come from native development. I got say that I've got pretty excited about the possibility of coding native Apps using C#, since it's my background language and I've been using it for Android development which is ok, but I'm really striving to use it for iOS and getting sick and tired trying to use the Storyboard Editor. Is it me or is it really a shit thing? I'm sorry for the fault language, but I'm really angry by the time I'm writing this piece.

Coming from the Xcode editor that presents a pretty good and mature interface editor, working with Xamarin is painful. The editor is really slow, I got tons of glitches trying to move and set objects around. It's darn hard to set the Layout Constraints correctly, it took me a very long to understand how I would set an object to take the entire View Controller space by setting the trailing, leading, top and bottom spacing constraints, and the suggested constraints was based on Width/Height, which is clearly not what I wanted! I can't even find a way to manually add the constraints like I can in Xcode, I'm trapped with the awful graphical constraint creation. I even can't edit or delete constraint properties in the property inspector...

From time to time Xamarin Studio crashes. It's no better if I try using Visual Studio, actually it's worse. I was unable to edit Storyboard because it wasn't recognizing the Starter Edition. Trying to run the App literally freezes Visual Studio minutes to log me that there was a problem with the build host. It's almost unusable.

Are you guys facing the same kind of problem? I'm up to decide if will go with Xamarin or search for alternatives, and if I go with Xamarin I can't afford to buy that expensive price for a product that really don't provide me with all the native experience that I found for iOS as they market it.

Regards,
Rafael