Connect mobile application to SQL server

AndrewWilson.2511AndrewWilson.2511 EGMember ✭✭
edited June 2015 in Xamarin.Forms

Hello everyone,

I am new in developing mobile applications. I am trying to start a simple project on Android/iOS/Windows phones. The application should contain a login page that the user enters username and password and the application should check these info on the local SQL server and check whether the user is registered or not. I have couple of questions and just need your help :)

1) How to create the server tasks (PHP, Json...etc) and what should the server send to the application?
2) How to connect the xamarin.form project to that SQL server to check the info the user entered?

your help will be really appreciated :)
Thank you in advance!

Answers

• Billy12ShovelsBilly12Shovels USUniversity ✭✭✭

@AndrewWilson.2511 Hello, I don't connect to a SQL server directly from the application. I use the REST Web Service that my office created to connect to the SQL server, and then I connect to the Web Service with my application.

I'm not too sure if you can even connect to a SQL server directly from an app?

Does that make any sense?

• AlessandroCaliaroAlessandroCaliaro ITMember ✭✭✭✭✭

@AndrewWilson.2511 To connect to SQLServer you could use System.Data.SqlClient
    https://msdn.microsoft.com/it-it/library/system.data.sqlclient(v=vs.110).aspx

This should be simple for windows phone.
    For Android and iOS I think you should have business version.

Otherwise, as @CodyRousseau says, web services are the solution.

I have also found this on nugget
    https://www.nuget.org/packages/System.Data.SqlClient/

I don't know if it's compatible with iOS and Android...

• DerekPapworth.4183DerekPapworth.4183 GBMember ✭✭