iOS Simulator Error - Black Screen.. Help!

I am having some trouble with the iOS simulator and I was wondering if anyone else had the same problem or had any suggestions. I am very new to xamarin; I just completed the Hello, World tutorial for iOS. I was able to build all with no errors, just one warning about the Pushkit.framework. When I attempt to launch the app in the simulator, it displays the launch image then goes black. I've tried stopping the app, returning to the home page of the simulator and attempting to relaunch from there, but I get the same results. I have already tried resetting the contents and settings of the simulator, and I have made sure there are no breakpoints active that the app might get hung up on in running. Can the pushkit features mentioned by the error cause this problem? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Answers

• JohnMillerJohnMiller USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai

@OliviaMurphy,

It sounds like there might be some missing code in the AppDelegate.cs file. Is there any code to set the initial controller for the app?

Your FinishedLaunching method should look similar to this.

public override bool FinishedLaunching(UIApplication application, NSDictionary launchOptions)
        {            
            Window = new UIWindow (UIScreen.MainScreen.Bounds);
            Window.RootViewController = _controller = new TestViewController(); // First screen
            Window.MakeKeyAndVisible ();

return true;
        }

If you are using Storyboards, this may look a little different. If you continue to have trouble, upload your project as a .zip and I will take a look.

• OliviaMurphyOliviaMurphy USMember

@JohnMiller I am using Storyboards; this is what is in my FinishedLaunching method:

// Override point for customization after application launch.

// Code to start the Xamarin Test Cloud Agent
        #if ENABLE_TEST_CLOUD
        Xamarin.Calabash.Start();
        #endif

return true;