Using Xamaring with NDK

MichaelMelamudMichaelMelamud Michae MelamudUSMember ✭✭

Hi All,

I am new to Xamarin and to android development,and i am having issues on importing a library to a project , so i have a few questions :

1. Can i Import a static library to the project? or i can use only a shared library (.so files) ?

2. My library will be compiled under GCC with a toolchain called atollic ( it comes with an modified version of eclipse ), should it be a specific GCC toolchain? or it does not matter ?.

3. How do i import the static library to the project? maybe there is any example that i can use ?

Best regards,
Michael

• JonathanPryorJonathanPryor Jonathan Pryor USXamarin Team Xamurai

\1. Can i Import a static library to the project? or i can use only a shared library (.so files) ?

You can only package shared libraries (.so files) into a .apk.

\2. My library will be compiled under GCC with a toolchain called atollic ( it comes with an modified version of eclipse ), should it be a specific GCC toolchain? or it does not matter ?.

I believe that it won't matter, as long as your library conforms to the Android ARM EABI.

• MichaelMelamudMichaelMelamud Michae Melamud USMember ✭✭

Hi Jonathan ,

Yes i just figured it out by myslef , so now i have a .so file . but now i am facing another issue :

I have put my so file ( ie. test.so) in /lib/armeabi folder (using visual studio)
    I am trying to do [DllImport("test.so")] public extern static int GetCount();

But on runtime it throws me dll not found exception , i looked at the following document :

http://docs.xamarin.com/guides/android/advanced_topics/using_native_libraries

but i could not understand how to use Path "sniffing" or Using a //AndroidNativeLibrary/Abi , can you please explain me how do i do that ? or maybe i can provide the full path to the library.

Thanks
    Michael

• JonathanPryorJonathanPryor Jonathan Pryor USXamarin Team Xamurai

But on runtime it throws me dll not found exception