Is it possible to include native libraries automatically from a NuGet package?

JVattJVatt USMember

I need to create a NuGet package that includes some PCL code and some Android code with native libraries (.so).

Is it possible to include the .so files automatically in the project that is using the package? Right now I need to manually add them to the project from the packages directory, otherwise they are ignored, which kind of defeats the purpose of the package.

I hope to do the same with iOS also.

• mattwardmattward GBMember Xamurai

I am not an expert on how the native libraries need to be referenced in the project but it looks like they are extra MSBuild items.

<AndroidNativeLibrary Include="path/to/libfoo.so">
        <Abi>armeabi</Abi>
    </AndroidNativeLibrary>

So you may be able to do this using an MSBuild .targets file in the NuGet package. You could define the extra MSBuild elements in this .targets file and the project would have them imported. That is going to be the only way I can think of to get them into the project without resorting to using PowerShell which is not supported on Mac.

• JVattJVatt USMember

Thanks @mattward. Though it seems like NuGet just ignores my .target file. I put it under the 'build' directory where my .csproj file is. The naming should be correct: '{packageid}.targets'

My MSBuild file is built like this:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?> <Project DefaultTargets="Build" xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/developer/msbuild/2003"> <Configuration Condition=" '$(Configuration)' == '' ">Debug</Configuration> <Platform Condition=" '$(Platform)' == '' ">AnyCPU</Platform> <ItemGroup> <AndroidNativeLibrary Include="libs\armeabi-v7a\lib.so"> <Abi>armeabi</Abi> </AndroidNativeLibrary> <AndroidNativeLibrary Include="libs\armeabi-v7a\lib2.so"> <Abi>armeabi</Abi> </AndroidNativeLibrary> </ItemGroup> </Project>