Annoying Popups

Hi,

I have an INDIE subscription so I write most of my code in Xamarin Studio. However I have a few shared libraries and server code which I develop in the same solution but open in Visual Studio. This used to work very well for me until this week.

When I say well it means my Android and iOS projects were not opening at all and just displaying as disabled - perfect for my needs as I still can write server code and change model libraries shared between server and mobile apps.

Since the last update every time I open the solution or try to build it I get annoying popups (see attached). I'm not sure what happens here, can I get back to the previous behavior?

Thanks!

• BrendanZagaeskiBrendanZagaeski USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai

Thanks for the report! In my quick tests I was able to prevent the activation dialogs using the following steps:

1. Manually unload any Xamarin.Android or Xamarin.iOS projects in the solution.
    2. Quit Visual Studio.
    3. Reopen the solution in Visual Studio.

The Xamarin support team has also filed a bug to request that the Xamarin VS developers change the behavior so that these activation dialogs will not appear when building non-Xamarin projects in solutions that contain Xamarin projects, even if the Xamarin projects are currently loaded.

• Thanks @BrendanZagaeski‌ it almost helps. I have 3 apps and 1 PCL library with Xamarin target in it (I was able to compile it before with Indie). I can manually unload 3 apps but not the PCL project as I need to compile it for the server code. Popup appears once instead of 4 times though which is less annoying )

On the other hand I like the feature that you can still see iOS and Anroid project code from VS with Indie but can't compile it. This is extemely useful for solution-wide VS refactorings, otherwise I need to go back to Xamarin Studio and fix class renames for example manually.