Using a java library and a native library (.jar and .so) -> 'Java.Lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError'

GaborGabor USMember
edited March 2013 in Xamarin.Android

Hi guys, I'm new to Xamarin and I have a serious namespace(?) problem using a java library and native library.

My target is to create a "3rd" party SDK from one of our project (and use this from a MonoAndroid testproject).
It was written in Eclipse (java and C++). The SDK should contains a jar file (from the java source) a .so file (compiled c and c++ code) lots of resources and some assets.
So I set the "Is Library" flag in Eclipse, compiled, and made a zip file fom asset, bin, res and libs folders.

With this tutorial, I made the binding project: http://www.craigsprogramming.com/2012/07/actionbarsherlock-with-mono-for-android.html
Added the zip, set metadata.xml to fix compilation errors, so it's compiling succesfully.

After that, I created a very simple testproject in XamarinStudio to test the bindig project. It's only a new class and a StartActivity to start an activity from the java. Added references (the bindig project and v4.support), set the same target framework....)

My first problem was a "java.lang.classnodeffounderror: "com.logmein.rescue.android.R$layout" when the activity try to create the view (when the java code try to use it's resource). It was strange, that all of the resources from my SDK are in the testproject namespace. I fixed this issue in the java code with change the "R.Layout.mainpage" to this piece of code:
"getContext().getResources().getIdentifier("mainpage", "layout", getContext().getPackageName())".
This fix is from here: http://www.renderdragon.com/mono-for-android-and-facebook/
Well it is compiling and working, but I don't think this is a proper solution for this issue....

The next issuie is more seroius and I could not solve: when a java code tries to call a native function I got a "UnsatisfiedLinkError".
Call stack: