Looking to pop up an alert like displayalert() but from the View Model (Xamarin Forms Labs)

I am using Xamarin Forms Labs and a PCL. I am using the ViewFactory to bind the Views to the View Models. Other than creating a separate alert view and view model, is there a way to get access to that displayalert() method in the Page class?

Best Answers

Answers

• adamkempadamkemp USInsider, Developer Group Leader mod

View models are cross-platform, and an alert is a UI thing. You could use an event in your view model and subscribe to that even in your view to trigger the alert to be displayed.

• AnthonyGaddAnthonyGadd USMember ✭✭

Thanks for the answer.

Makes sense, but how do I do that when using the view factory, where the View is only bound to the View Model through the bindings, I don't have access to the View Model object in the View. I am pretty new to IOC and DI so please forgive my noob-ness.

In App.cs this is all I have that binds the two:

ViewFactory.Register<Login, LoginVM>();

return ViewFactory.CreatePage();

• adamkempadamkemp USInsider, Developer Group Leader mod

The MessageCenter is also a good suggestion!

• AnthonyGaddAnthonyGadd USMember ✭✭

Thanks HiroDev, I am going to go with the MessageCenter. Pretty simple to use.

Thanks also Adam, I have a feeling I am going to need to do that at some point and I didn't know you could do that. Much appreciated.

• AllanRitchie-oldAllanRitchie-old CAInsider ✭✭✭

You can also use the library below. It is available on nuget and allows you to do all sorts of different dialogs from your viewmodels:
    https://github.com/aritchie/acr-xamarin-forms

with examples on what it does:
    https://github.com/aritchie/acr-xamarin-forms/blob/master/Samples/Samples/ViewModels/UserDialogViewModel.cs

• LarryXLarryX USMember