Forum Xamarin.Forms

Announcement:

The Xamarin Forums have officially moved to the new Microsoft Q&A experience. Microsoft Q&A is the home for technical questions and answers at across all products at Microsoft now including Xamarin!

To create new threads and ask questions head over to Microsoft Q&A for .NET and get involved today.

Xamarin.Forms and Sharing a PCL with Android and iOS using Embeddinator

Hi,

I'm a newbie to Xamarin, and I'm trying to setup a project that allows me to share .NET code between Android and iOS platforms. I tried following this guide:

devblogs.microsoft.com / visualstudio / share-ui-code-in-any-ios-and-android-app-with-net-embedding/

but I am running into a prroblem getting the PCL to build an AAR file for Android. I followed the guide okay and the build succeeds, soI have gotten to the point of running the after-build custom command using Embeddinator, but the command fails. The AfterBuild custom command I am running is this:

mono '${SolutionDir}/packages/Embeddinator-4000.0.4.0/tools/Embeddinator-4000.exe' '${TargetPath}' --gen=Java --platform=Android --outdir='${SolutionDir}/androidoutput' -c 'bin/Debug/FormsViewGroup.dll'

which returns the error

Could not find assembly 'bin/Debug/FormsViewGroup.dll'

I get the impression the FormsViewGroup DLL is supposed to exist, but I do not see one either. But the guide makes no mention of a ManagedAssembly or DLL, and I'm confused as to how to fix this. I don't work with .NET very often and I've never tried to embed a PCL in a native app before. Has anyone managed to embed a PCL shared library in native apps or does anyone know what I'm missing?

It is worth noting that the example/guide is running Xamarin.Forms 2.5 and I started a new PCL project with Xamarin.Forms version 4.8.0.1821.

Thanks!

Answers

• xambambeefiusxambambeefius Member ✭✭