Forum Xamarin Xamarin.Forms

How to refresh data for a page properly?

SerenaSerena Member ✭✭

I am new to Xamarin.forms so would like some discussion here. Any thoughts will be appreciated!

So take Linkedin for example (attached screenshots). When I navigate to a page, the page doesn't show data immediately but shows an activity indicator instead for a while, and then shows the data. The process behind the activity indicator seems to request the data from API.

If I want to achieve something similar: each time when first loading the page, or come back from the other pages, it refreshes the data first. What's the best practice for it?

Actually I am working on a mobile project. The more specific scenario: There is a report page and the date range filter modal page. On the report page, the users click a button to enter the filter page, then select a data range and click 'apply' button to return to the report page. I successfully passed back the filtered data range to the report page using messaging center, where I use it like this(command for 'apply' button):

public ICommand SaveDateRange => new Command( async () =>
        {

MessagingCenter.Send(this, "savedrange", SelectedPeriod);
                await _navigationService.PopModalPageAsync();
        });

The report page successfully received data and requested new data from my API. The issue is, the 'apply' button seems to get stuck for 5+ seconds until the modal page begins to fade out.

So I can see, the modal page only fades out after the report page finished updating data. That's how the app currently works.