Forum Xamarin.Forms
We are excited to announce that the Xamarin Forums are moving to the new Microsoft Q&A experience. Q&A is the home for technical questions and answers at across all products at Microsoft now including Xamarin!

We encourage you to head over to Microsoft Q&A for .NET for posting new questions and get involved today.

How do I set the font family of a label, platform to platform.

I'm a beginner in Xamarin and xml. I know a some C#. I'm trying to set the font of my Xamarin Forms application on the android version specifically, that way I can get a monospace font (Droid Sans Mono). I've looked around at a lot of threads about fonts and OnPlatform and data bindings, but I'm a little bit lost. I'm pretty sure Font.FontFamily is read-only as well.

here are some examples of things I have tried:
Label1.FontFamily = Device.OnPlatform("MarkerFelt-Thin", "Droid Sans Mono", "Comic Sans MS");

<Label x:Name="Label1" Text="" HorizontalOptions="Center" VerticalOptions="CenterAndExpand"> <Label.FontFamily> <OnPlatform x:TypeArguments="String"> <On Platform="Android">Droid Sans Mono</On> </OnPlatform> </Label.FontFamily> </Label>

Best Answers

• Othello7Othello7 Member ✭✭
    Accepted Answer

Ok! It was pretty much that i had tried too many alternate ways to set the font and after some commenting out of code they did, this worked. And others like it.
    <Label.FontFamily> <OnPlatform x:TypeArguments="x:String"> <On Platform="iOS" Value="CourierNewPSMT" /> <On Platform="Android" Value="monospace" /> <On Platform="UWP" Value="Courier New" /> </OnPlatform> </Label.FontFamily>
    Also, using the custom font worked.

Thank you to everyone on these forums and to microsoft support for helping me with my problem.

Answers

• NMackayNMackay GBInsider, University admin
    edited December 2019

Can you not use x:OnPlatform markup extension?

FontFamily="{x:OnPlatform Android='Droid Sans Mono', iOS='Something Else', UWP='XXX'}"

in a style you could set it like this