Forum Xamarin.Forms

Changing ContentViews dynamically on a ContentPage with MVVM pattern using Prism

I have been searching for a way of doing this for a time, but I didn't find something clear with what I want to achieve. I'd like to get some hints on which would be the best way to achieve this.

I have a ContentPage with two "containers", on which I would like to alternate 5-6 ContentViews. I was thinking on binding the Content property of these containers to a property in my ViewModel (let's say, an integer), and instantiating the ContentView that I want to show through a converter.

But, I'm kinda new with prism and mvvm and I'm not sure if that would be the best way, and if so, how I could accomplish that. Until now, I had been registering the pages on the 'RegisterTypes' method and using the navigation service. Another thing I want is to re-use the views that have been instantiated, and I don't know if I could do that with the converter way.

• JohnHJohnH GBMember ✭✭✭✭✭

If you need to do that I would bind the IsVisible property of each ContentView with an appropriate property converter to set it on or off depending upon the values in your view model. But it still comes down to your specific use-case.

Prism is for navigation I believe, so not sure what that has to do with this question.

• pacomaralpacomaral Member ✭✭

@JohnH said:
    If you need to do that I would bind the IsVisible property of each ContentView with an appropriate property converter to set it on or off depending upon the values in your view model. But it still comes down to your specific use-case.

Prism is for navigation I believe, so not sure what that has to do with this question.

I had thought on that, but by that way, all the contentviews would load their data once the page is opened (if I'm not wrong). The problem is that some of them have extense load of data within a ListView and I guess the performance would be horrible.