Parsing mathematical expressions which have omitted multiplication signs

SmartmanAppsSmartmanApps AUMember ✭✭✭
edited August 10 in General

Hi all,

I am also a Maths teacher, and I've just discovered widespread incorrect parsing of mathematical expressions, courtesy of this "what does 8÷2(2+2)=?" which is going around at the moment. My (physical) scientific calculator gives the correct answer (1). Google, Bing, and my Android calculator ALL give the wrong answer (16), due to incorrect parsing of the expression. Here's why the answr IS 1 (the question isn't ambiguous nor open to interpretation - there is only 1 correct way to read it)...

2(2+2) is subject to the distributive law. The omitted multiplication sign means this is NOT optional. i.e. in this context, with a preceding "÷", 2(2+2) != 2x(2+2). This is where people are going wrong, because they rewrite it as 8÷2x(2+2), and through BEDMAS come up with 16, because they do (8÷2)x(2+2). This is incorrect because you've ignored the distributive law. i.e. a(b+c)=ab+bc. a is what's known as a co-efficient, and it belongs exclusively to (b+c). To solve (b+c) you MUST distribute a first. On the other hand, ax(b+c), a can be treated as a separate term, and, written out fully, the co-efficient is 1 in this example, and obviously is already distributed - ax1(b+c). 1xa(b+c) is different.