How can I jump from one veiwmodel to another viewmodel by passing parameter on item tapped ?

h_kumarh_kumar Member ✭✭
edited July 26 in Xamarin.Forms
I want to navigate page from category page(CategoryViewModel) to product page.(ProductViewModel)... How can I pass parameter on listviewitemtapped and display the data of particular catID on product page...
Plz if anyone can provide me the solution..
Thanks I'm new to xamarin

Answers

• FaizalSaidaliFaizalSaidali USMember ✭✭✭

@h_kumar, I suggest to you for Prism. That will helps you to navigation and data passing keep simple
    https://prismlibrary.github.io/docs/xamarin-forms/Getting-Started.html

• GraverobberGraverobber Member ✭✭✭

You didn't share any code so it is hard to assume.

Define a constructor in your Productpage that either takes the catId or the whole CategoryViewModel as parameter.
    Then ListviewItemTapped should be an event in your Categorypage.
    When it happens you do something like this:

CategoryViewModel tappedModel = sender as CategoryViewModel;
    ProductPage prodPage = new ProductPage(tappedModel.catId);
    await Navigation.PushAsync(prodPage);

• FaizalSaidaliFaizalSaidali USMember ✭✭✭

@Graverobber said:
    You didn't share any code so it is hard to assume.

Define a constructor in your Productpage that either takes the catId or the whole CategoryViewModel as parameter.
    Then ListviewItemTapped should be an event in your Categorypage.
    When it happens you do something like this:

CategoryViewModel tappedModel = sender as CategoryViewModel;
    ProductPage prodPage = new ProductPage(tappedModel.catId);
    await Navigation.PushAsync(prodPage);

Hi @Graverobber, I think he can resolve the blockage by your recommended way, but Xamarin has an standard. Please make sure your code in MVVM architecture. Keep separately maintain the UI layer and logic layer. Otherwise it will complicate to handle after a long journey.