MasterDetail Menu Stutter/Lagging

capitolcapitol Member ✭✭

I have a MasterDetail Menu that when an menu item is selected, it jumps or skips to the page. It is like it tries to slide but doesn't at all. It should be smooth but nothing about it is smooth. Sometimes it will start to slide then jump to close, sometimes it just flicks off the screen.

I'm looking to get that smooth sliding transition that is associated with the MasterDetail Menu.

I've loaded the Hamburger sample from here: Prism Hamburger Menu

This works as it should. Smooth sliding transition.

Here is my code which is near identical, but I am loading a lot more content in the loaded pages:

private async void OnNavigateCommandExecuted()
    {
      var pageToNavigate = SelectedMenuItem.PageName;

if (pageToNavigate == "LoginPage")
      {
        var action = await _dialogService.DisplayAlertAsync("Log Out", "Are you sure you want to log out?" +
          " You will be required to enter your password on the next login.",
          "Ok", "Cancel");
        if (action)
        {
          ClearAllUserDetails();
          await _navigationService.NavigateAsync("/" + pageToNavigate);
        }
      }
      else
      {
        if (SelectedMenuItem != null)
        {
          var parameters = new NavigationParameters
          {
            { "FilterPath", SelectedMenuItem.Path }
          };

await _navigationService.NavigateAsync("NavigationPage/" + pageToNavigate, parameters);
        }
        else
        {
          await _navigationService.NavigateAsync("NavigationPage/" + pageToNavigate);
        }
      }
    }

Answers

• capitolcapitol Member ✭✭

Anyone?

• NMackayNMackay GBInsider, University mod

Generally this suggests your pages are thread blocking when been pushed onto the navigation stack which causes the master detail page to stutter.