Can anyone recommend an alternative to Zxing?

XamarinoobXamarinoob Member ✭✭

We have a feature request to scan distant QR codes (printed on full A4 paper). In the iOS camera app, this is possible when you 'pinch-to-zoom'. However, zooming does not seem to be available with Zxing, (and distant focusing is not working well either).

FWIW, I'm fairly new to Xamarin development. It is a Xamarin forms application supporting only iOS at this time.

Answers

• AlessandroCaliaroAlessandroCaliaro ITMember ✭✭✭✭✭
    Zxing is for free. There are other product, but are not for free
  • XamarinoobXamarinoob Member ✭✭

Cost is not really an issue - at this point we need to let the client know what costs are to be expected.

Can you please share the other products?

• AlessandroCaliaroAlessandroCaliaro ITMember ✭✭✭✭✭
    I know Scandit
    But I think you can easily find something with google

Otherwise you can use external barcode readers
  • parzivalmxparzivalmx Member ✭✭

You can create a custom iOS render for the camera add bar-code scanning features and customize the camera details. Using the native methods.

metadataOutput = new AVCaptureMetadataOutput();
                        var metadataDelegate = new BarcodeScannedOutputDelegate();
                        metadataOutput.SetDelegate(metadataDelegate, DispatchQueue.MainQueue);

// Specify barcode types, I2of5 & QRCode
                        metadataOutput.MetadataObjectTypes = AVMetadataObjectType.Interleaved2of5Code | AVMetadataObjectType.QRCode | AVMetadataObjectType.Code128Code;

// Create Preview Layer, this can be customized further later
                        AVCaptureVideoPreviewLayer previewLayer = new AVCaptureVideoPreviewLayer(session);
                        previewLayer.Frame = new RectangleF(0, 0, (int)UIScreen.MainScreen.Bounds.Width, 400);

• LEAD_SupportLEAD_Support USMember ✭✭