Xamarin Studio in Linux

HumbleGeekHumbleGeek ROMember, Beta

Hi,
I know this question was asked before, but I'm interested if Xamarin Studio with support for Android and iOS development will be available in Linux, same as for Windows and Mac.
I'm a C# dev currently doing Android apps using Eclipse/Ubuntu and we want to investigate MonoForAndroid and MonoTouch as a cross-platform alternative, it will be nice to be able to do this from Ubuntu directly.

Best Answer

Answers

• HumbleGeekHumbleGeek ROMember, Beta

Thanks for the answer, will prepare a Windows machine. I still hope Linux will be a supported platform in the future :)

• tushtush INMember

hi sir, can you please tell me if there is any kinda provision(or in future?) to use .net framework in linux(ubuntu) (via OR not xamarin) ?? i want to use some of C# application software to develop and use in linux.. will be happy if u help me out. Thanx! :)

• nodoidnodoid GBMember, Beta ✭✭✭

.NET itself is supported under a large number of Linux distros with Mono. Check with your distro to see if it's available as an rpm or deb.

• tushtush INMember

but even mono supports till .net 2.0 .. the rest .nets are not (fully) spported.. :(

• DaveHuntDaveHunt USMember ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 2013

I think you may have misunderstood the mono versioning. The stable release of mono (2.10.x) for the various linux distros supports .NET 4.5 (I believe, but definitely higher than .NET 2.0).

Of course, that depends on what you mean by fully supported. The core services are fully supported. There are certain parts that will likely never be supported.

• Hi, guys! What about Microsoft open sourced .NET?

• CheesebaronCheesebaron DKInsider, University mod

@felipsmartins‌ what about it?

• maheshpaytmmaheshpaytm INMember

Hi,
    xamarin, will work on Linux(Fedora). plz ...

• maheshpaytmmaheshpaytm INMember

Hi,
    will fedora os support Xamarin ??

• LukeMalpassLukeMalpass USMember