Data sync from SQL DB to the application local storage

jeevithajeevitha USMember

Hi All,
I am very new to Xamarin and We are developing a cross platform app (iOS, Android) for contact management (Listing, add, edit) and WCF service for connecting the applications with the SQL DB. We are using SQLite DB for local storage. Our requirement is to enable Datasync functionality from the server to the Local storage of the users mobile in every 24 hours. everyday night at 12 AM, data sync operation should be triggered and pass the data from the service [from my SQL DB] and store it in the SQLite DB of all the users devices. So when the user uses his app in the mobile, it will fetch the data from SQLite DB.

Please advise what is the best way of achieve this functionality. If possible please share the sample code

Thanks
Jeevitha

• JonDouglasJonDouglas USXamarin Team, University, Developer Group Leader Xamurai

One way off the top of my head would be to create a "SyncEntity" that your models will inherit from that will take properties such as "LastSynced", "IsSynced", etc. You can then use your properties to manage whether or not you have the most recent record when going back up to your WCF Service.

You would then take advantage of each platform's startup/backgrounded services to run your "Scheduled Sync". You may need to implement your own "Scheduled Sync" on each platform via the abstraction pattern in a PCL or via file linking. Though this is quite an advanced topic, you may find some resources from how @JamesMontemagno‌ worked his into Azure Mobile Services:

https://github.com/jamesmontemagno/MyExpenses

• jeevithajeevitha USMember

Hi Jon
    Thanks for your reply. we are designing our Contact Entity with the properties LastUpdated,DBRecordid and have the same fields in SQL DB also. So if the LastUpdated date and RecordId matches in the Localstorage, it will not update the record.