NSTableView.SelectionDidChange event is not triggered when a row of a table view is selected

blagovestblagovest Member ✭✭

Hi,

As a newbie I went through the Xamarin.Mac documentation and I was able to understand how the binding and setup of a table view works. One of the things not mentioned in the documentation is how the tableview events are handled. I instantiated my tableview outlet and then call the object event SelectionDidChange. It never triggered when I single click or double click a row in the table view. What is the proper way to achieve this?

Tagged:

Answers

• ChrisHamonsChrisHamons USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai

Welcome to the board.

On questions like this, posting the relevant code or attaching a sample will greatly increase your chance of getting an answer.

NSTableView (and NSOutlineView) are pretty non-trivial to get right the first time, and the Apple documentation is less than ideal.

Here are a few places to look for more information:

Searching for macOS information can be challenging, I often find adding "Cocoa" to it improves results.

For example "Cocoa NSTableView selection changed" gives https://developer.apple.com/documentation/appkit/nstableviewdelegate/1528567-tableviewselectiondidchange?language=objc which is the delegate method you need.

But before any of those, as you are likely a new Xamarin.Mac user, I would strongly suggest reading through our FAQ:

https://forums.xamarin.com/discussion/31680/welcome-to-the-xamarin-mac-forums-and-faq#latest

as it links helpful documentation on how to read Objective-C documentation and other required skills.

• blagovestblagovest Member ✭✭

Hi Chris,