Select All Switch with MVVM

GraverobberGraverobber Member ✭✭✭
edited May 20 in Xamarin.Forms

Hello everyone,

I wanted to implement a select all switch, which, when selected it selects all other switches. If it is deselected it deselects all. If all switches are selected one by one and the last one is selected, the switch should also be selected. If all are selected and one is deselected the switch should deselect as well but the other switches should remain selected.

The last step is what is giving me a hard time right now.

I'm kind of new to MVVM so perhaps I'm missing something. I will give you a short example of what I did:

We have a content page which has the UI:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<ContentPage xmlns="http://xamarin.com/schemas/2014/forms" xmlns:x="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2009/xaml" xmlns:local="clr-namespace:SelectAllSwitchTest" x:Class="SelectAllSwitchTest.MainPage">
    <StackLayout Orientation="Vertical" HorizontalOptions="Center">
        <!-- Place new controls here -->
        <Switch x:Name="SelectAll" IsToggled="{Binding AllSelected}"/>
        <Switch x:Name="Joe" IsToggled="{Binding Joe.IsSelected}"/>
        <Switch x:Name="John" IsToggled="{Binding John.IsSelected}"/>
        <Switch x:Name="Fred" IsToggled="{Binding Fred.IsSelected}"/>
    </StackLayout>
</ContentPage>

And the .cs sets the Binding Context:

public partial class MainPage : ContentPage
    {
        public MainPage()
        {
            InitializeComponent();
            BindingContext = new MainPageViewModel();
        }
    }

Then the MainPageViewModel is like this:

public class MainPageViewModel : INotifyPropertyChanged
    {
        public bool AllSelected
        {
            get 
            {
                foreach (var person in persons)
                    if (!person.IsSelected)
                        return false;
                return true;
            }
            set
            {