Getting "composition" when asking for AVAssets

JonasRembrattJonasRembratt SEUniversity ✭✭✭

I'm pretty new to PhotoKit but I haven't found much intel in Apple's documentation as to the behavior of the APIs.

My problem is in this scenario:
1. user picks several videos from the Library (I'm using GMImagePicker
2. My code attempts getting the URL for each picked asset
3. In the callback method I sometimes get a AVUrlAsset but often I get a AVComposition object instead with multiple tracks and segments.

It seems I can simply get the first segment of the first track and pick that URL, at least for my needs right now but why do I smetimes get a AVComposition asset and sometimes a AVUrlAsset?

Answers

• LucasZhangLucasZhang Member, Xamarin Team Xamurai

AVComposition is a subclass of AVUrlAsset.In order to deal with video (editing mode) in slow motion more quickly, Apple does not rewrite video every time it is modified. Sometimes, it just changes its configuration. More detail about AVComposition you can refer https://developer.apple.com/documentation/avfoundation/avcomposition?changes=latest_minor&language=objc.

So ,How to get the AVAsset ? Here is a similar issue https://stackoverflow.com/questions/32081057/how-to-convert-an-avmutablevideocomposition-to-an-avasset and you can convert the OC to C# .

• JonasRembrattJonasRembratt SEUniversity ✭✭✭

Thanks! I'll try the suggested approach. But if AVComposition was a subclass of AVUrlAsset I wouldn't have this problem, right? According to Apple's documentation (that you linked to) it's AVComposition : AVAsset.

I'll test it and accept it. Thanks mate!

BTW. Does this mean that I get an AVComposition because the video was edited or slow-mo? I'm pretty sure it's neither but I'm interested in why/when it happens.

edited May 14

(deleted double-post. This place needs a DELETE)

Because of your video contains configuration information