Developing a Location Background Service

mivewimivewi DKMember ✭✭

Hi

I want my app to send a location every x minuttes, both when using the app, but also when the app is in the background.

I seen a few example of how to create a service which is running in the background with xamarin.android. (https://github.com/xamarin/mobile-samples/tree/master/BackgroundLocationDemo)

But what about xamarin.forms, which I'm working on? Could the same code be used with forms? Also I haven't seen the same for xamarin.ios.

Why can't I find a full example code of sending locations from a app, both foreground and background? I'm convinced a lot of developers could be interested in such functionallity.

I'm very new to xamarin, so I'm hoping you can point me in the right direction if its possible to develop such funcionallity.

Kind regards

Answers

• ClintStLaurentClintStLaurent USUniversity ✭✭✭✭✭

The Xamarin Essentials package includes GeoLocation service. Its an evolution of James Montemegmo's stand-alone GeoLocation service so its well established and countless developers have been using for quite some time.
    So you don't need to re-invent the wheel. Just use what already exists.
    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/xamarin/essentials/

• mivewimivewi DKMember ✭✭

The geolocation service in Xamarin Essentials gives me the users current location, but I don't think it will continue giving me the users locations when the app is in the background if its not in a background service of some kind and that's my question, how do I make the app continuously give me users location in the even though the user puts the app in the background?

@mivewi said:
    but I don't think it will continue giving me the users locations when the app is in the background

Have you tried and failed... Or just being pessimistic?

I have plenty of code that runs when the app is not foreground... logging... server checking for updates... blah blah.