Why does BindablePropery immediately call set after get on a ViewModel?

jaredballenjaredballen Member ✭✭

I have property on my ViewModel that is bound to a View. When the property is updated, I would expect the BindableProperty class to call get on my property and then call set on the bound property in the View. However, I am seeing a set called on my ViewModel by the BindableProperty class, immediately following the call to get, with the same value returned from the get. Why is there an immediate call to set?

Answers

• JamesMontemagnoJamesMontemagno USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team, Developer Group Leader Xamurai

Do you have a source code sample?

• jaredballenjaredballen Member ✭✭
    @JamesMontemagno thanks for the reply. I'll upload the source a bit later wen I'm in from of a computer.

@JamesMontemagno attached is atext file with the URL to my git repo that contains the sample app I used to replicate this behavior. Sorry I can't post the actual link as I am new to the forum.

I added an Entry on the MainPage that is bound to the Text property in MainPageViewModel. In the OnNavigatedTo method of MainPageViewModel, I added a Task with a loop to flip the value of Text every second. This operation is instrumented with debug prints as well as prints in the getter and setter for Text. In the output, I'd expect to see the value of Text set in the Task and then a call to the Text getter. I do see this but then there is an immediate call the Text setter with the same value that was set in the Task from bindable object. You'll have to break and review the call stack to see this.

• LandLuLandLu Member, Xamarin Team Xamurai

@jaredballen Firstly, we need to understand what is Bindable Properties. The Text property you created in your view model is not bindable property. It is used for binding to the content page's Entry's TextProperty which is the truely bindable property.