Bind SelectedItem in ListView to element in another page

tvaltval Member ✭✭

I am new to Xaml, and have been scouring the web for examples, but so far all I have found is binding viewmodels commands to elements on the same page. But what I would like to do is bind elements on one page to trigger an event on another page. What I have is a Main Page:

<TabbedPage.Children>
    <pages:MapPage"  >
        <pages:MapPage.BindingContext>
            <viewModels:MapViewModel/>
        </pages:MapPage.BindingContext>
    </pages:MapPage>

<pages:LayersPage">
        <pages:LayersPage.BindingContext>
            <viewModels:LayersViewModel/>
        </pages:LayersPage.BindingContext>-->
    </pages:LayersPage>

</TabbedPage.Children>

The Map Page holds a custom SkiaSharp control that loads maps. The LayersPage holds a listview with possible layers to load:

<ContentPage.Content>
    <StackLayout>
        <ListView x:Name="listView" 
                  ItemsSource="{Binding Layers}" 
                  Header="{Binding Intro}"
                  Footer="{Binding Summary}"
                  ItemTapped="OnItemTapped">
            <ListView.HeaderTemplate >
                <DataTemplate>
                    <StackLayout Orientation="Horizontal" 
        Padding="10,5,5,10"
        BackgroundColor="Yellow">
                        <Label Text="~~"/>
                        <Label Text="{Binding .}"/>
                        <Label Text="~~"/>
                    </StackLayout>
                </DataTemplate>
            </ListView.HeaderTemplate>
            <ListView.ItemTemplate>
                <DataTemplate>
                    <TextCell Text="{Binding Name}" Detail="{Binding Description}"></TextCell>
                </DataTemplate>
            </ListView.ItemTemplate>
        </ListView>
    </StackLayout>
</ContentPage.Content>