skiasharp skcanvasview on mac missing invalidate?

jaymannjaymann Member ✭✭

Hi

I'm totally new at Xamarin / C# / Visual Studio. I do have extensive web dev experience in JS. I'm an developing a native macos app and decided Xamarin mac and Skiasharp was the way to go.

Everything was more or less ok until I reach a point in my code where I need to redraw the canvas after reading new data from a connected hardware device that I need to represent on screen graphically.

I've invested already quite some hours into this and haven't been able to find anything specific on how to redraw the canvas fro Xamarin mac. I see that for Xamarin forms the way to go is invalidate / invalidateSurface, but I can't find it's equivalent for Xamarin mac.

Can someone please tell me how am I supposed to force the canvas to redraw?

Kind regards

Tagged:

Best Answer

Answers

• wtforkwtfork Member ✭✭

I am having a similar issue.

• wtforkwtfork Member ✭✭

I was able to force a redraw in a Mac client with:

CGRect rect = new CGRect(0f, 0f, Bounds.Width, Bounds.Height);
    SetNeedsDisplayInRect(rect);

...being called in a subclass of SKCanvasView, in my case. Obviously your rect may vary depending on the situation.

• jaymannjaymann Member ✭✭

Thanks @wtfork. I'll give it a try later today. Nonetheless, isn't there a more canonical way to do this within the framework?

• wtforkwtfork Member ✭✭

I believe I saw a separate thread that suggested that for Mac the responsibility for drawing the screen was left with the host view, but I am maybe a week into Xamarin so don't take me for an expert :)

• ChrisHamonsChrisHamons USForum Administrator, Xamarin Team Xamurai

Consider filing an issue with skiasharp - https://github.com/mono/SkiaSharp/issues

@wtfork : I called your code within a subclass of SKCanvasView, but nothing happens. I guess it is because I had to instantiate a sublcass object to make the code run. And that would create a different instance of the SKCanvasView object.