Automatic provisioning profile not showing up for a colleague with the same app

JamesLaveryJamesLavery GBBeta, University ✭✭✭✭✭

I have no problems building our app for the iOS simulator, with automatic bundle signing and the associated automatic provisioning profile. My settings are:

But my colleague gets this:

The system can't find a matching provisioning profile for the automatic signing identity.

What are we missing? My understanding is that he doesn't need an Apple Developer ID or to be part of our Apple Developer Team for automatic signing. Or am I wrong?

• Hi James

I'm no expert on this (yet). However, I would have believed that he needs to log into his Apple dev. account to get the provisioning profiles - how else would his VS know which profiles are available?

• JamesLaveryJamesLavery GBBeta, University ✭✭✭✭✭

No, I'm pretty sure that's not the case here. In order to create use a Provisioning Profile for physical devices, sure he needs to have an Apple Developer ID and have downloaded certificates and profiles.

However, for the Developer (Automatic) signing identity, I don't think this is the case. I'm pretty sure this and the associated Automatic provisioning profile (which allows deployment to the Simulator) should be available (ahem) automatically.

The strange thing is that he can deploy a newly created Xamarin.iOS project to the simulator, but not our customer's. He gets an error 'No valid provisioning profiles' (paraphrased).

I can deploy the app to the simulator no problem.

• JohnHJohnH GBMember ✭✭✭✭✭

@JamesLavery said:
    No, I'm pretty sure that's not the case here. In order to create use a Provisioning Profile for physical devices, sure he needs to have an Apple Developer ID and have downloaded certificates and profiles.