XAM U closing - Xamarin Certification now meaningless/cancelled/worthless

ClintStLaurentClintStLaurent USUniversity ✭✭✭✭✭

cc: @NMackay Thought you'd find this interesting

After May 1, 2019, these programs, including Xamarin certification exams, will no longer be available and active subscriptions will be canceled. For more details, please read our FAQ.

Just got this in email. As I read it Xamarin University will soon be a thing of the past. It will all be self-taught and YouTube. I'm sure glad I had the opportunity to do these course with live instructors. I think this is saying that there won't be any more certifications. Is that what everyone else reads in this? I wonder how that affects the LInkIN area just for certified developers.

Xamarin University is moving to Microsoft Learn

In September 2018, Microsoft launched a free, interactive training portal, Microsoft Learn, incorporating many of Xamarin University's popular features. We're now preparing to merge Xamarin University into the new learning platform, where all coursework will be free.

What to expect

By early 2019, we'll transition most Xamarin University certification and Xamarin.Forms courses to our self-guided learning portal, where they'll be free. Then we'll gradually convert all self-guided learning courses to Microsoft Learn before we close Xamarin University in June 2019. At that time, remaining subscriber-only content, including labs and off-topic videos, such as guest lectures, will be made available on YouTube and GitHub.

Office hours and instructor-led-only courses will remain available until May 1, 2019, giving you time to finish any in-progress Xamarin certifications. After May 1, 2019, these programs, including Xamarin certification exams, will no longer be available and active subscriptions will be canceled. For more details, please read our FAQ.